PDA

View Full Version : Turning for Teens

KristianH
7th January 2005, 10:15 AM
I've been turning for about three months , the shop teacher says I have a knack for it too. I also got a 12 inch mini lathe for christmas . I'm wondering what are some good woods to start with and still be affordable

sailingamerican
7th January 2005, 10:59 AM
I am glad to see yourmg people working with wood. I just have one question about your question. If you have been turning wood and your teacher says you are doing well than you already have been turning a good wood. I think you want to know what special woods are good to use when starting out. My wife is an Aussie. When I get there this summer I want to bring back some of your great woods to turn. I want to read what your mates have to say. I can learn on this one. Australia has some great woods that we do not have her in the US.
Happy turning and glad you got a late for Christmas. I hope you have some good tools and sharpening tools.
Richard

Sir Stinkalot
7th January 2005, 11:16 AM
sailingamerican ...... KristianH is closer to you so you may have to come up to the plate to bat on Australia's behalf :)

Grunt
7th January 2005, 12:29 PM
KristianH is closer to you so you may have to come up to the plate to bat on Australia's behalf

Isn't it come to the crease to bat? Plates are what you serve food on.

Sir Stinkalot
7th January 2005, 12:52 PM
Ahh I was thinking more along the line of baseball for our american friend .... I could be wrong ..... after all who in Australia plays baseball?

rsser
7th January 2005, 05:05 PM
Hi Kristian,

Welcome to the fraternity (and sorority!).

Since you're in Canada you might post this kind of request to the newsgroup rec.crafts.woodturning, or do a Groups google to see what's been said on the topic already - heaps probably.

ptc
7th January 2005, 05:16 PM
Richard
Where in Australia for your hoilidays ?
ptc

KristianH
9th January 2005, 01:22 AM