PDA

View Full Version : mortise and tenon

aus_07
24th September 2011, 09:21 PM
Hi all,
Well I'm fairly new to the woodworking scene, but am wanting to work out the best way to cut mortise and tenon joints. I'm trying to decide on either buying a jig for a router (saw one on carbatec), or buying a mortiser ($299 from carbatec) and having to cut the tenons on a mitre saw (don't own a tablesaw yet).

If someone can give advise on the best and most resonably priced way to do this, that'd be great. Whether to buy a jig (if so which are recommended) or are there any other ways?

Any tips you'd like to give aswell are much appreciated.

p.s if this is in the wrong part of the forum, please move it.
cheers

yowie
24th September 2011, 10:58 PM
If you are in Carbatec, have a look in the book section, there are some great books on woodworking for beginners that will show you haow to do them easily by hand. You will get some great hand tools for the same price as a morticer and a saw. This is how I started and haven't looked back.

China
24th September 2011, 11:37 PM
If you only have a small number to produce you could also use a mortice chisel a hammer and a tenon saw

Glennet
24th September 2011, 11:53 PM
There are literally hundreds of ways of making mortise and tenon joints, depending on the tools you have and personal preference.

I think the mortiser is more for people who make a lot of them, or already have a well equipped workshop - certainly not one of the first things to buy.

I agree with the others that you should start by learning to make them with hand tools. But another option is to use a router. There are many designs for shop made jigs for both the mortise and tenon. Or you can use a router table.

Phil Hansen
25th September 2011, 01:22 AM
How you do it depends on quantity.
One or two - do by hand.
Today I did 364 tenons for dining room chairs.
Tomorrow will do 364 mortises.
I have a Leigh FMT and it just keeps producing perfect joints and