PDA

View Full Version : Spraying lacquer

eisbaer
3rd October 2011, 07:55 PM
Hi everyone,

So as many of you will have seen, I like to try different finishes from time to time. I've been considering spraying lacquer instead of dipping to try and get a more even finish.

I've never done spray finishing before and I'm not sure where to start. The precat lacquer I dip with is fine for spraying but I don't own the apparatus required.

Does anyone have any suggestions regarding compressor, airbrush and mix ratio? This will be used initially for pens but eventually many things.

plantagenon
3rd October 2011, 08:57 PM
An air brush would be the way to go as a normal spray gun would have far too much over spray and power. The air brush should come with instructions and a mixer so you get the ratios right between the lacquer and the thinner.

Good luck, it won't be easy as you don't have a flat surface and you will need to rotate the blank at an even speed to get a consistent coat. Try the guys in furniture making on this forum as some of them might use spray guns.

Pariss
3rd October 2011, 09:10 PM
Hard to beat a glassy CA finish. I enjoy trying a variety of finishes for variouse woodworking projects, but as far as pen making goes, there really are only a few that can logically be used for timber pens. If you want HARD high gloss then CA or Polly is the go. If you want a natural, close to the wood satin finish (that will last a long time), then EEE compound & Shellawax + a final coat of Traditional Wax is gorgeous and quick and easy. Pens are not ornamental, they will be used by people with greasy sweaty hands, chucked around on a desk, dropped on the floor, and generally given a rough life. Spray lacquer won't last very long in these situations. It's best used on more ornamental type projects. Anyway, that's my take on the subject of finishes. Have fun :2tsup:

eisbaer
3rd October 2011, 10:10 PM