PDA

View Full Version : flat beer

kraits
11th October 2011, 07:59 PM
no doubt this has been asked a thousand times before, put down a brew and it turned out just5 fine, next brew was was flat! same method used to a tea, tfried variables, rather thn an electric blanket a tank heater was submersed into the barrell, still flat, seeing unactivated yeast in the brew, after 3 weeks only slightly better but, still flat as sh#t.

next brew was done with fresh bakers yeast, yeast activated, good head, tastes like fruit salad.

only getting good results with black beer,

feedback fellas please

Vernonv
12th October 2011, 11:31 AM
I'm only a novice brewer, but I'm a little confused ... I thought you only got proper carbonation after you either keg the brew (using CO2) or bottle it (secondary fermentation with sugar).

Most of my brews are only lightly carbonated straight from the fermenter, but reach full carbonation after a secondary fermentation in the bottle (I normally leave them about a month).

kraits
12th October 2011, 12:29 PM
if figured the problem is happening before its bottled, thats why i didnt even think to mention it and i had downed half a dozen long necks by the time i entered this blog

im blaming the yeast! real yeasty taste and fruity too, drinkable but could be alot better

Sir Stinkalot
12th October 2011, 12:29 PM
I find that the secondary fermentation in the bottle will create the fizz. To do this I now have replaced the spoon of sugar in each bottle with the sugar drop things, just because it is more convenient.

After capping I give the bottle a quick shake and then store in warmish conditions for a week or so to enable the yeast in the bottle to use the bottling sugar. Then the beer is racked in storage for as long as possible. Ideally dark and cool but I either store it in the garage or laundry.

Not so keen on the substitution of the yeast as I think brewing yeast is different. Perhaps this has explained the fruity taste.