PDA

View Full Version : Turning homemade laminates??

ozwaz09
14th October 2011, 11:47 PM
Hi All, I am a novice, but one with a bit of adventure! I have an idea to build my own turning material from sheets of veneer (glued and pressed together to form a laminate of different types and colours) and then turn into a bowl or platter.
I am intending to make a series of potential patterns by laying different veneers in different directions and different layers (either random or specific pattern).
Q. Is this easy to do? Are there any pitfalls or any clues or tips? What about grain direction?
I have trialled a small piece (about 5" square by approx 1" thick using 36 sheets of veneer) and compressed between 30mm thick particle board using 2 large G cramps. The result is very good, I think and works well with saw, plane and sanding disc.
Any suggestions, previous experiments or guidance would be very much appreciated.

wheelinround
15th October 2011, 09:54 AM
Try turning plywood same thing

here's a look at a how too and what you can get Plywood Turned Bowl | Mary Ostler (http://www.maryostler.com/2009/09/plywood-turned-bowl/)

tea lady
15th October 2011, 02:46 PM
Sounds interesting! :cool: Like micro segmented work. So where is the pic of your test piece? :D

ozwaz09
15th October 2011, 06:52 PM
Aaah! It looked good last night - then I left it in the car in the sun, to show a mate, now a few splits have appeared in it, along the line of veneer sheets.
Either I did not leave it cramped long enough, or I need to use a better glue.
But that's the point of doing a test piece, isn't it?
Great to see some feedback.

ozwaz09
15th October 2011, 06:57 PM
Yeah, that's the effect I am looking for! My thought is you make your own ply from veneer sheets. What do you think?

vk4
15th October 2011, 07:25 PM
I would look at buying / acquiring various different timbers, then with a good saw ,RE SAWING them to strips and building your blanks.