PDA

View Full Version : Very much a newbie :)

SandyC
18th October 2011, 11:37 AM
Hello Everyone, I'm just starting out. My hubby has been woodturning for about 18mth now, has a natural talent :) and this has given me an interest into trying pyrography. I have just purchased a pen with changeable nibs. What I need now is a teacher. can anyone advise me on one in the Brisbane area. There is talk of starting a class in my hubby's woodturning club, but nothing has come about as yet.
Looking forward to learning heaps.
Sandy

vk4
18th October 2011, 08:49 PM
Sandy,

are you north or south??
I am in the Kallangur area and we are members of the Caboolture club, there is a club at Redcliffe , which is very active with Pyrography.

Check with the wood turners assoc, they may be able to assist.

Jeff

SandyC
18th October 2011, 10:41 PM
Thanks Jeff, I'm on the North side, hubby belongs to the Redcliffe Woodturners Club is this the one you mean? I'll get him to ask around there :) I'm keen to start :)
Sandy

vk4
19th October 2011, 03:36 PM
Sandy ,

if Redcliffe don't have anything, and I believe they should .

Then Caboolture every MONDAY morning from 8am.

My wife and I are there every 2nd week, . As for machines , I am Looking at building my own ,with 2 independent out lets for 2hand pieces , with individual temp controls..

Jeff

SandyC
20th October 2011, 09:03 AM
Thanks again Jeff, we went to the Bribie Island Show yesterday, awesome works! several people there were very helpful. Hubby will ask tonight at Redcliffe. I picked up the machine I bought yesterday from a Electronic Engineer. I'll put a pic up and his discription later this morning. I find it excellent for me ( a beginner) I showed it to a person at the show yesterday and he was impressed with the weight of it ( light as) and it's safty fictures. I had a little play with it....just wish I knew what I was doing :)

SandyC
20th October 2011, 09:22 PM