PDA

View Full Version : enhancing a vase with bad joins

mick59wests
2nd November 2011, 08:04 PM
Hi to all in the Woodturning Forum.

I have been woodworking for a few years and have recently started in the fun of turning. Because I had some decent wood (for woodworking but not turning) stored, I decided I would join some of my pieces and turn a wooden vase. I looked at segmented vases but I am not sure if I will live long enough to make one of them! I have joined huon pine with blackwood and have mahogany on the inside.

After doing the joins I realised (once again) that my fine woodworking was not very fine and there are significant gaps.

My first thought was 'here goes another project that could have been better'. But then I started thinking (either as an optimist or someone delusional) that perhaps I could do something to make it better than if the joins were precise.....The things I have thought of are to fix the gaps in one of the following ways after turning the outside but before any sanding :
- fill the gaps with resin mixed with colour (probably black)
- fill the gaps with clear resin
- fill the gaps with clear superglue
- fill the gaps with a sawdust/glue mixture

I am hoping some of you fellow turners have had to deal with something similar and can share what you did or found out. Photos attached to show the gap size (probably up to 2mm).
cheers
Mick

corbs
2nd November 2011, 08:55 PM
You could also go with a contrast like coloured glitter or crushed turquoise in resin? The contrasting hardness of the woods may cause problems down the track too? I made a coffee cup for the inserts you can purchase and had Huon with Blackwood. When sanding, the Huon sanded away faster than the Blackwood enough to notice on the lathe but not enough to be an issue on the finished product. Keep us posted:)

tea lady
2nd November 2011, 10:28 PM