PDA

View Full Version : More VSD/VFD problems.

Ironwood
12th November 2011, 03:40 PM
My lathe rebuild has been dormant for quite a while now, due to other commitments. But just recently some problems became evident when I started playing around with the VSD.

http://www.woodworkforums.com/attachments/f65/181724d1315956479t-saj-vsd-problems-img_0677.jpg (http://www.woodworkforums.com/attachments/f65/181724d1315956479-saj-vsd-problems-img_0677.jpg)
http://www.fennecmachinery.com.au/SAJ%208000-M%20manual.pdf

I had run it up a few times without issue just after I got it, but recently I ran the autotuning function, this has set the overload cutout at 4.7 amps ( the motor plate is stamped 4.7 amps ).
Now it has become obvious that the motor is drawing a lot of current, because it cuts out on overload when the load is increased. It would be impossible to take even a light cut with the lathe.

I have measured the current with a clampmeter, and also checked it on the digital readout on the VSD.
With the belts off, the motor is drawing 3.2amps at 50hz, and 1.5amps at 100hz.

With the belts on, at 10hz its drawing 1.9amps and steadily increases to 4.7amps at 100hz, where it cuts out on overload. It will cut out earlier if you turn the dial up too quickly.
I have backed off the bearing preload to make sure it wasnt too tight, everything seems to turn over OK.

I have reset the maximum current back to 100 percent (which is 7amps) the motor still draws the same current, but doesnt cut out.

The VSD is drawing 6amps from the 240v supply just when it cuts out on OL ( at 4.7amps at the motor).

I recently had a mate who is an Electrician call in for a look. He tested the motor, all the windings have the same low resistance.
He ran a series of tests to make sure the wires were hooked up in delta correctly.
We ran out of time and he had to go, so we didnt resolve the problem.
He is quite sure the motor is all OK, and he suspects its a setting on the VSD.