PDA

View Full Version : Guide Template Software

HeadScratcher
7th December 2011, 08:39 PM
I don’t know if such an animal exists yet, but I figure once I get up and running with my yet to be purchased router, I am going to need to do various and constant calculations to figure out clearances etc.

Being both a bit of a claytons programmer and a total noob to wood working, I figure the easiest way to ensure accurate measurements every time is to write a program that tells me what dimension I need with a couple of input variables.

Would there be any interest out there if I went to the trouble of writing it?

HeadScratcher
7th December 2011, 09:09 PM
Here is a very quick knock up of what it might look like... obviously it is short on a lot of other information, but this is just a rough idea.

tomg
8th December 2011, 09:20 AM
What a great idea !!!!

HeadScratcher
8th December 2011, 09:36 AM
Just for my own amusement I started writing up a bit of code last night behind the quick Graphical User Interface (GUI) I threw together.

Looking at some guides they seem to follow a similar 3 dimension pattern, an A, B, & C (ID, OD, & Height) measurement and a Part No.
<O:p</O:p
For quicker recall of the desired template guide, I might want to create a small database to store that data in, and perhaps another table for the router bits as that will be a factor in the final measurement.
I think it will be many years before I can offer any real wood working advice so I will do what I can in other areas.

HeadScratcher
8th December 2011, 12:52 PM
Knocking the rough edges off the user interface...
Would need to work out exactly what needs to be measured, so it can be shown on the screen.
But the idea is to have the graphic on the right hand side of screen represent the guide and the cutter in some sort of scale, so you could try various guides and router bits to mix and match and it spit out the dimensions of everything.

chrisb691
8th December 2011, 04:24 PM