PDA

View Full Version : Welder to mig steel and alum

KWD
17th December 2011, 10:17 AM
Hi,
I'm new to welding, wanting to buy an entry-level mig welder to run on 15 amp single phase, maybe around 200 amps, and I'd like to have the ability to use an aluminium spool gun. Was looking to spend about $1k on machine. I'm considering a Boc 'Mag Mate' with Binzel MB24 KD torch. Seems to have good performance figures. Does anyone know if these are any good, and is there a spool gun available for that machine?
Thanks in advance,
KWD.

dubman
17th December 2011, 03:34 PM
My opinion you can't beat the lincoln 180c with the optional spool gun
expect to pay about $1350-1450.00 for both the spool gun and the machine
or you can get the machine on its own for about $950.00 and add the spool gun later

Karl Robbers
18th December 2011, 11:19 AM
Why so keen on a spool gun? Do you really need one? What type of Aluminium work are you intending?

constablechris
18th December 2011, 12:36 PM
Mate

I have a Mig O Mag 200c (older model) which I have modified with a North type push pull gun with 8 metre cable. It goes great (other than the gas solenoid went kaput) Doesnt matter what anyone says a push pull or spool gun is worth its weight in gold. (mine weighs 8kg :U)

I have an original specific 3 metre torch for ali, but the amount of time I spent moving the machine to get a straight run, trying to keep your lead flat, or cleaning and replacing tips because of burn back makes the whole project very trying and no fun at all (I am building a 5metre 4mm plate boat) If I was doing it with the regular torch set, I would have given up by now.

I find the 200c is easy enough to use, and it is going great guns with what I want it for. The push pull gun was easy to install, as I got some direction from someone on this site, and that was a god send! I can send you directions or advice if you want or you can search out my post.

If you want info on the Brisbane supplier for the push pull let me know.