PDA

View Full Version : Timber Supplier?

Gumnut_Farmer
25th January 2005, 05:06 PM
Hi,

I have been turning for only a few months, and have found the hardest part is finding timber. So other than Bunnings, which is great if you want radiata at a max of 200x45, can anyone recommend a place near PERTH where I can source timber for platters and bowls?

Thanks.

Kev Y.
25th January 2005, 10:28 PM
Welcome aboard.. Why not try giving your local tree removalist a call, look them up in the yellow pages, they are bound to have an endless supply of timber for you to play with.

However the timber will be green and will require some time to dry out, but atleast you will have something other than "noxious weed" to turn.

smidsy
26th January 2005, 12:22 PM
I'm not on my pc at the moment so I can't give you the URL but google search the Wood turners of WA website and on that site you'll find a link for a site called mulchnet.
It's a website for WA tree loppers where you can register for mulch and firewood, but you can also score wood for turning if you don't mind letting it dry - most of the tree loppers have yards full of timber but they don't treat it so it's cracked.
PM me if you can't find it and I'll mail you the URL when I get home.

Cheers
Paul

PS Welcome to the group - we are all normal, it's just some of us have our own definitition of normal :D

John Saxton
26th January 2005, 11:44 PM
Hi, welcome to the BB. Plenty of options first off Carba-tec in Balcatta, Timbecon in John St Bentley but they will cost you some dosh.

Like Paul said try the Western Australian Woodturners association for means of access to timber .www.wawa.com.au

Southside Woodturning supplies ph 9314 2226 may also be able to help.

Also Like Brudda said check the local Shires for windfall, curb collections,also get onto the Kings Park Administration for access to their tree pruning programme and a vast range of timbers available.