PDA

View Full Version : Mdf

Redback
27th January 2005, 02:35 PM
Hi All,
I am about to start building a low lying cabinet that will go in my home theatre. I have a projector system, so all it will hold will be the receiver, set top box dvd player and the sub woofer.

Anyways, to go with the look of the room, the wife wants it black. I therefore decided not to waste money on decent wood and assumed MDF will be best.

As I am new to this business and havent worked with MDF, what is the best kind of finish (oil or water based paints....I assume oil). Is it best to use one of those foam type rollers you use for applying oil paints to doors, or a low nap roller or by brush?. Do you need to prep the service with anything beofre painting?, is there anything I should do to the paint afterwards?

I am looking for a sort of flat finishe, not shiny or glossy.

Also, is it good enough to route a decorative edge to the mdf and then paint over, or would I need to attach a pine edging.

Thanks

RB

simon c
27th January 2005, 02:46 PM
It's very hard to paint the edge of mdf as it soaks up paint so an edging would be a good idea. Another option is not to paint the edge but to buy black iron on edging.

If you do want to paint it, you will have to seal it. WhiteKnight sell an mdf primer or alternatively you can seal the edges with diluted wood glue - search this forum for hints as this aspect has been covered before.

If you want a low sheen finish, you may as well stick with water based paint - quicker drying.

beejay1
27th January 2005, 07:07 PM
As stated, you should seal the mdf first. Ive found i get better finish on mdf by using those mini rollers foam type rather than the fluffy ones, and you will probably need 2/3 coats as mdf is very absorbent.

you might want to consider blackboard paint for the finish it works well.
By the way use proper mdf sealer
beejay1

soundman
27th January 2005, 10:05 PM