PDA

View Full Version : So there are other glues...

Onezero
13th January 2012, 12:35 PM
Newbie here! Since high school I have only ever used either standard Aquadhere or no-more-nails to glue wood together.

Seems as though I might be missing out on something better.

At the moment I am making storage boxes for kids toys from ply and a set of draws for work, also from ply!

Before going to the big green shed, I wanted to ask people who know something, because no one there does!

Could I be using something better? I see on youtube blokes using puss coloured glue. I am assuming 'yellow glue'.

phantomas
13th January 2012, 02:33 PM
Newbie here! Since high school I have only ever used either standard Aquadhere or no-more-nails to glue wood together.

Seems as though I might be missing out on something better.

At the moment I am making storage boxes for kids toys from ply and a set of draws for work, also from ply!

Before going to the big green shed, I wanted to ask people who know something, because no one there does!

Could I be using something better? I see on youtube blokes using puss coloured glue. I am assuming 'yellow glue'.

The best glue for wood is 'selleys platimum', it is a polyurethane glue which cures with moisture, it expands and creeps into the pores which makes it very strong, it dries hard but more importantly is still flexibile, it is much better than any of the 'runny' polyurethane glues which are sold as wood glues, PVA and it's variants don't even get a look in.
It isn't very popular because it isn't marketed as a woodworking glue by Selleys and worse it comes in a silicone style cartridge, so it doesn't look like a wood glue in the shop.

_fly_
13th January 2012, 02:40 PM