PDA

View Full Version : Star picket lifter design - simple, easy DIY

gragra_in_oz
18th January 2012, 08:08 AM
Hi, newbie here. Looking for a simple DIY star picket lifter design to weld up. Any images or ideas appreciated. Bit of a novice welder, but with more than 20 pickets to remove out of solid clay, I'd like to be able to make my own rather than buy an overpriced old design crudely-built, cheap import. G

Cliff Rogers
18th January 2012, 09:22 AM
Stock Item - Road Safety, Safety Equipment, Hire, Personal Protection, Workwear - RSEA - One Stop Safety (http://www.rsea.com.au/stock/item/740005)

http://www.woodworkforums.com/f65/star-picket-iron-post-puller-59085/
Stringy's link has died in that thread.

Try google.

gragra_in_oz
18th January 2012, 10:12 AM
Thanks for the tips. Yes, I followed that link but it went nowhere. I've googled several times, even tried youtube. There are three commercial ones available in Oz; probably best value is at Sneddons 6-in-one (driver/lifter/log-roller etc), at $310, but prefer to design/build a simple lifter myself.
Appreciate the input.
G

sjm
18th January 2012, 11:48 AM
We had one like this when I was a kid, basically two cams that gripped either side of the vertical rib and lifted straight up. Would be easy to knock together.

STAR PICKET PULLER [P/N 12200, P/N PPL0001] : Concrete Products, Tools & Formwork for the Concreting Industry, FORM DIRECT (http://www.formdirect.com.au/product/star-picket-puller-p-122.html)

Cliff Rogers
18th January 2012, 11:53 AM
Thanks for the tips. Yes, I followed that link but it went nowhere. I've googled several times, even tried youtube. There are three commercial ones available in Oz; probably best value is at Sneddons 6-in-one (driver/lifter/log-roller etc), at $310, but prefer to design/build a simple lifter myself.
Appreciate the input.
G
Pick one & copy it. :D

fxst
18th January 2012, 12:12 PM
loop a chain around the picket and a hi-lift jack easy & cheap
Pete

BobL