PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening Gouges

MRNey
19th January 2012, 04:20 PM
So I have been thinking about a Scheppach TiGer 2000 wet stone grinder for sharpening my gouges.

Does anyone have any experience with these? Are there jigs available for them? Are they easy to use?

I'm currently using a standard white wheel on the bench grinder or a standard stone, (I'm a butcher by trade) and am having no problems with most of my tools, but my turning gouges are giving me the heebie jeebies.

Any advice or opinions are welcomed will be taken thankfully.

turnerted
19th January 2012, 04:52 PM
Hi
A Woodcut Tru-Grind sharpening jig would get you going a lot cheaper . If you are handy with metal fabrication ,there are many DIY jigs described too .
Ted

cookie48
19th January 2012, 08:19 PM
MRNey
I have one and do not use it. Mainly because the wheel supplied did not stay central on the shaft. That is the wheel turns with a big bump in it. I have tried packing on the shaft and informing the company I got it from. Both turned out to a waste of oxygen. So mine sits in a cupboard collecting dust.
Cookie

BamBam53
19th January 2012, 09:31 PM
As Ted said, the Woodcut Tru-grind jig is great for gouges.

I bought myself one for Christmas and made to set of spacers as shown on the South Auckland Woodturners Guild web site (http://www.sawg.org.nz/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/Tru-Grind-Spacers1.pdf).

Scott
19th January 2012, 09:48 PM
Thanks Cookie and others, you've saved me from a bad purchase :)

MRNey
19th January 2012, 11:13 PM
Hello and thanks for the feedback, I think I might pass if that's the case.

The Tru-Grind sharpening jig, looks like it might be a goer then.

Thanks for your help.

Marshall

NeilS
20th January 2012, 07:42 AM
hi
a woodcut tru-grind sharpening jig would get you going a lot cheaper . If you are handy with metal fabrication ,there are many diy jigs described too .
Ted

+1

Robson Valley
21st January 2012, 03:40 AM