PDA

View Full Version : Introduction and request for info

baseball
1st February 2005, 03:49 PM
Hi, I am new to scrolling and relatively new to the world of woodcrafting. I have been doing power carving (Dremel) with the Bribie Woodcrafters for about 4 months but have come to the realisation that it is not for me. I recently bought a second hand scroll saw, a Ryobi VS 162. :o There was no instructions with it and I have not been able to get one from the Ryobi download site.

My question to the forum is can I use pinless blades on this saw? The blade holders appear to have provision for screws to be screwed in the side to hold the blade, but after getting a couple of 5mm screws and inserting them they don't go all the way. Am I missing something here or do I need to get conversion parts?

I look forward to participating in the forum.

Thank You

Baseball

oges
2nd February 2005, 09:30 AM
Not familiar with this saw, will see if I can find some information on it for you

Iain
2nd February 2005, 04:29 PM
Can you post a piccy of the head where the blade sits?

baseball
2nd February 2005, 06:45 PM
This is the best shot I could get of it. It quite clearly shows the screw hole I mentioned.

I hope I get it attached correctly.

Correction to the model number: it is SC 162 VS

Dave

Iain
2nd February 2005, 07:37 PM
That is a pinned blade holder but I have not seen one like it. It appears to be able to accept a pinless blade, does the hole go all the way through? if so you will need a small anvil on one side for which the screw will clamp the blade to.

bermuda395ggxi
20th February 2005, 01:27 PM