PDA

View Full Version : Advice for beginner

rmf78
15th February 2012, 12:22 PM
Hi All, after many years of being obssessed with beautiful wooden products I have decided to take the plunge and learn woodworking. I have absolutely zero background in woodworking or any trade. I love wood and also the idea of making beautiful wooden objects for my family. So have decided to put myself out there and give it a go.

I have managed to find someone who will give me woodturning lessons and I am also enrolling in a furniture making course.

Any advice for a complete novice? It is worth investing in a second hand lathe and after having some lessons and learning how to work safely just doing it myself?

Any thoughts ideas advice etc. would be most welcome.

Also I live in Prahran, Victoria, so any information on local clubs, timber suppliers etc would be really helpful.

Thanks and looking forward to getting involved in all things wood!

Cheers

Ron

bhedgesdipalo
15th February 2012, 12:33 PM
Hi Ron and welcome. I am a beginner also. Started early last year but due to some ill health have not turned a lot of items other than Pens which don't take a great deal of effort. Great that you have found someone to teach you. Always practice safety first. Eye, Ear, Breathing protection is of most importance. Joining a Woodturners Club is the best thing one can do as usually as in my case the other members are Extremely experienced Men & Women and give you the very best advice. Don't be afraid to ask questions. You will be given many different answers as everyone has different style. I was given an old lathe to learn on and once I get to a better level of experience will invest in a better lathe. Once you start guarantee that you will be hooked. There will be wood pieces everywhere............Hope you have a big shed...............All the best

_fly_
15th February 2012, 12:39 PM