PDA

View Full Version : Wood lathe vibrations. HELP!!!

asheddie
17th February 2012, 06:26 PM
Hello, I'm relatively new to wood turning. I've been given a wood lathe but didn't get a chance to use it for a few months as i was building a new shed. Now the shed is complete I had a go turning some Sheoak. The lathe is much nicer to use than my old, home made job but the new one is a lot lighter than the old girl. when I'm doing the initial turning the lathe wants to vibrate to the other side of the shed, making some nice big scratches in my new concrete:~ It has a spot to bolt it to the floor but i don't really want to put holes in my new slab. I was thinking it would be nice to put some wheels on it and take it to the front entry step so i don't throw so many wood chips around the shed. Can i put some sand bags around the feet or use tie down straps? any suggestions?
Cheers.

RETIRED
17th February 2012, 06:29 PM
Some more information needed.

What brand of lathe? What sort of bench?

Some pics would help as well.

asheddie
17th February 2012, 07:29 PM
Some more information needed.

What brand of lathe? What sort of bench?

Some pics would help as well.

I took these pictures with my phone so not the best quality.

The brand is LEDA and it has a cast iron bed. Don't get me wrong it's still heavy, just not heavy enough to stop the vibrations.

hughie
17th February 2012, 08:06 PM
The brand is LEDA and it has a cast iron bed. Don't get me wrong it's still heavy, just not heavy enough to stop the vibrations

Welcome aboard, not sure if this will help but here goes.

Well at the end of the day vibrations are due to balance issues and every lathe has its range or limitations. As turners we need to be aware of our respective lathes limitations and generally work with in them. I say generally for the most part we often push the envelope. :U