PDA

View Full Version : Tool choice advice

michael_m
6th March 2012, 09:29 PM
Hi all,

I have recently been given a lathe for my birthday - a secondhand MC900 clone, that goes well, and all the bits work just fine. It came with a Nova G3 chuck, steady rest and a bunch of el-cheapo turning tools too.

I'm all very excited to have it, and because I haven't touched a lathe in 23 years (since I was in high school) I've been having some lessons from the woodworking department at work (I'm a school teacher, so I have been going into the workshop at lunchtimes and after hours for lessons in technique and safety).

One thing I have really noticed is the difference in feel and (for want of a better word) 'seriousness' of the tools between the ones at school and the ones at home. My home tools feel so tinny and inconsequential! So my plan is to replace/add to them one at a time. They're fine for the time being in that they remove wood in a predictable and acceptably safe fashion, but there is no bowl gouge in there, and I can safely say I'll be at this turning lark for a long time to come.

So my question is, are there any brands, styles of tool you would recommend? I am looking at maybe Sorby or Hamlet tools - are these acceptable brands for a beginning, but committed hobby turner? I would be interested in other recommendations, but Hamlet/Sorby is the price range I can afford to buy in. I'm hoping to be able to afford one every second month or so, probably starting with a bowl gouge (bowl turning lessons are on the cards).

Many thanks in advance for your advice,

Cheers, Mike

dr4g0nfly
6th March 2012, 09:54 PM
MC900 & a Nova chuck, a good starting point.

It's the el-cheapo turning tools - are they the very cheap chinese tools. If they are, don't throw them away they'll give you metal to practice sharpening on!