PDA

View Full Version : Alignment issue AL 330

tbonesmith
8th March 2012, 10:56 PM
Hi guys, I recently bought a second hand AL 330 in pretty good nick. I have levelled it pretty well, the bed is untwisted, not perfectly level, but parallel and only out by about .003".
Over 18" I'm getting indicted spindle/bed misalignment of .010", so that would be cutting a taper of .020" over that distance, which is pretty major.
I got the relevant Grizzly manual(which seems to be the same machine) but it doesn't go into the details of spindle alignment.
I read the thread on the spindle alignment on the AL960, is it all the same here?
Any one done this on this model?
I've been tinkering on metal lathes for a few years, but am still pretty novice beyond the basics and realize I can quickly go from bad to worse when I start turning screws I'm not sure about.
Any help gratefully accepted and put to use. Will post pics of the process to help future people in my situation.

Other than this the lathe is great, quiet, no vibration, all feeds and controls work smoothly, no real wear to speak of ... I've got a ripper when I fix this.

Cheers guys!

Stustoys
8th March 2012, 11:07 PM
Hi tbonesmith,
Welcome,
Congrads on your new lathe
"not perfectly level, but parallel and only out by about .003". Over 18" I'm getting indicted spindle/bed misalignment of .010", so that would be cutting a taper of .020" over that distance"
Can you explain how you came up with these numbers?

Does it look pretty much like this one? http://www.machineryhouse.com.au/L183

Stuart

pipeclay
8th March 2012, 11:11 PM
Have you performed a cut over the 18" length.
If so was it supported by the tailstock.
If you did do a cut over this length unsupported what was the diameter of your stock.
If you havent turned over this length what are you using as a sample.

tbonesmith
8th March 2012, 11:20 PM