PDA

View Full Version : Newmarket Sale yards Redgum for sale

redgumtragic
12th March 2012, 06:34 PM
Hi, I'm new to Woodwork Forums but here is the story. I have a number of redgum posts and beams from the Newmarket Sale yards. It has been stored under cover for more than 30 years. The sizes vary from 400x400x4000 to 300x200x3000. We have milled some smaller pieces and to our delight the grain was beautiful fiddle back. I have been told these timbers were milled more than 120 years ago from old growth forrest. My question is, should I mill to smaller sizes before selling or put them on the market as they are? I'm not needing gold diggers here!, helpful advise will be much appreciated!

Groggy
12th March 2012, 06:39 PM
I'd put them on the forum as they are.

redgumtragic
12th March 2012, 06:42 PM
Thanks Groggy, how do I work out a real value on these without selling my soul to some self interest timber merchant?

Groggy
12th March 2012, 06:50 PM
I'd suggest you put some photos in first to seek an idea of prices.

PS - I am moving this thread over to the Timber area as it is not a "Wanted" or a "For Sale" (yet)

redgumtragic
12th March 2012, 07:23 PM
Thanks for the help! regardless of value, this timber is like selling my left arm!! (presure from the head cook if you know what I mean!)...It was to be part of a mub brick house that never eventuated and I'm now pleased that it didn't. This timber belongs if beautiful furnture for all to enjoy.

Acco
12th March 2012, 09:18 PM
I could be interest in one or two to build a bench, would depend on location and actual timber after either seeing some pics or seeing it in the flesh.

I'm assuming you're in Melbourne and if so what suburb?

_fly_
12th March 2012, 09:21 PM
I'd like to make a nice solid 1 piece guitar out of it.

cava
12th March 2012, 09:50 PM
I'd put them on the forum as they are.

:whs:

I also may want a piece of the action, depending on SWMBO of course.

dai sensei
12th March 2012, 11:17 PM