PDA

View Full Version : Mobile work station

colbra
13th March 2012, 04:41 PM
Hi All
I have been traveling around Australia for a couple of years now on and off with my home on the Central Coast NSW I have seen all sorts of caravans campervans mobile homes some are enormous and other are quite small what I have never seen is a caravan that is also a mobile workshop a bit like our back shed I suppose.
Is there any forums member that have, or seen such a unit at the moment I am at Soldiers Point Port Stephens and was talking to some other people that had seen such a van it was Jayco Base Station all set up with wood lathe band saw and drill press along with work benches all the tools for wood working plus separate power supply as it was explained to me the work bench could be moved outside and under a rear awning. What I was wondering if this is one of our fellow woodies or maybe you have seen this unit or know of one like it.
Many years ago I seen a military vehicle that was set up as an engineering work shop and that had the works and I mean the works blew me away that one, wonder where that went someone may have that in their back yard or may be in a museum some where
Any way lets know what you have or have seen about in your travels

Colbra:)

PS I think this would the ultimate in keeping the dream alive:2tsup:

RETIRED
13th March 2012, 09:03 PM
Bruce Bell had a mobile Woodturning school set up.

A Profile of Australian Woodturner BRUCE BELL (http://www.tymba.com/profile.htm)

wheelinround
13th March 2012, 09:27 PM
Fellow I knew of some years back had his mechanical/metal workshop in the back half of his mobile home and old bedford bus it had a ramp also which gave him access to get under cars.

colbra
13th March 2012, 09:36 PM
Bruce Bell had a mobile Woodturning school set up.

A Profile of Australian Woodturner BRUCE BELL (http://www.tymba.com/profile.htm)

Hi