PDA

View Full Version : tin snips-left hand or right hand?

3 toed sloth
14th March 2012, 07:20 AM
My first visit to metalwork forum. I am trying to get to the bottom of what makes a pair of snips left hand or right hand.

Aviation snips, or Wiss snips have green or red handles to indicate left or right hand snips.
A search of several different sources on the net show that the green handles are right handed and the red handles are left handed. If you look at a pair in the shop, the packaging will tell you that red is left hand and green is right hand.

So what's the problem?

As a plumber myself, the general opinion (almost universal) seems to be that green handles are left handed and red are right handed. This can cause confusion when working with others but normally you can just ask for the red ones, and avoid an argument.

But what about gilbow snips, which are not colour coded?

I have heard many theories about what makes one LH and one RH but none seem to stand up to logic and reason.

Please let me know if you have ever pondered this great dilemma and ,even better, come up with a feasible answer.

Geoff Dean
14th March 2012, 07:44 AM
I always thought that left and right handed referred to the direction of the cut it would make, rather than the hand it was used in.

So a left hand pair would tend to want to cut to the left or anti clockwise and a right hand pair would tend to cut to the right or clockwise.

.RC.
14th March 2012, 07:48 AM
I thought all tinsnips were specially designed not to cut in the direction you want..

ash233
14th March 2012, 08:05 AM
I thought it referred to which of the blades (left or right when looking down) was at the top. This then influences which side is the waste material as it allow one side of the material being cut to curl downwards out of the way. I could be wrong though!

Ben Dono
14th March 2012, 08:59 AM