PDA

View Full Version : Pen Press recomendations

Jack.Tar
14th April 2012, 03:16 PM
Which pen press to you guys use? Where did you buy it from and if you had the choice would you buy it again?

I have pretty much had enough of dealing with my timberbits one, it was pretty ordinary to start with but now bits are bending and I am cracking pens left and right.

Anyone have one of the GPW ones? This is the one I am considering but I am weary because it looks a touch like the timberbits one.

Cheers.

Pariss
14th April 2012, 03:53 PM
Hey Jack. This is the one I've been using for the past 2 years. Never had a problem. There might be better ones out there, but this is the only one I have ever used. I note the Timberbits have a new model on their site now. Looks good !.
Here is mine CWS Store - Pen Assembly Press | Carroll's Woodcraft Supplies (http://www.cws.au.com/shop/item/pen-assembly-press-4)

Jack.Tar
14th April 2012, 04:27 PM
The only one I can see on the timberbits store is the same one I have been using for about 2 years and it is very ordinary.

dabbler
14th April 2012, 04:33 PM
Let us know what you end up doing. As a beginner I haven't sprung for one yet - still using a smallish ratcheting bar clamp. Thought I'd wait and see a few varieties at the Bris wood show.

HazzaB
14th April 2012, 05:02 PM
Hey Jack,

I have a Pen Press from GPW, have had it for about 3 years, haven't had one problem, and done over 3000 pens, hasn't missed a beat.

HazzaB

gawdelpus
14th April 2012, 05:29 PM
I've never used a pen press as such , my old bench drill is pretty solid and I use that,mainly because its easy to line up the parts vertically and control the amount of pressure being applied ,also easy to see if things are not quite in line and make adjustments :) cheers~ John

Grommett
14th April 2012, 06:07 PM