PDA

View Full Version : MC 900 or 1000

keppar
18th February 2005, 05:52 PM
Hi all.
I'm new to turning and wish for some advise on which type of lathe to buy.After reading many threads, I believe the MC900 or 1100 would suit for the moment.
The differnce in price will be only $90 Would it be benificial to get the 1100.
Also I,m concidering the Hamlet brand of chisels Exccalibur range.At this moment I can afford only 4 or 5 so which sort should I get.

Thankyou

Bruce Micheal
18th February 2005, 09:24 PM
Keppar
I have a MC 900. For me it does the job, although I have had some minor dramas with it.
Search the threads for this lathe and I'm sure you will find plenty of info about both the MC900 and 1100.
Your choice of tools is fine, but why the expensive ones?
There is nothing wrong with Austraila's P&N brand.
Once again search the forums for the best ways to sharpen and look after your tools.
I'm no expert by any means on the tools required for what you want/think to turn, but for my initial purchase, I got a 3/4 inch roughing gouge, 1 inch skew, a 1/4 inch parting tool, 1/2 inch bowl gouge and a 1/2 spindle gouge. These have served me well for starters and now I have quite a collection of sometimes, unused tools. Consider enrolling in classes etc or getting involved in a turning club, I wish I would have in the begining! Also I wish I would have used/searched this forum before hand!
:)

smidsy
18th February 2005, 10:13 PM
Keppar,
I have the MC900 and I am more than happy with it - the main difference between the two is that the 1100 will take work that is a little longer in length. If you think you'll use the extra length go for the 1100, otherwise go for the 900.