PDA

View Full Version : First time turning

bassmansimon
12th May 2012, 09:15 PM
Hi everyone. This is my first turning off my lathe purchased recently - a Jet 1220VS.

I did the intro course at Trend Timber in western Sydney last weekend, but other than that, I'm a total novice. This is the first thing to come off my lathe.

I made it today as a Mother's Day present for you know who. She was very impressed, and I'd be keen to hear your feedback. Camphor laurel, finished only with the abrasive polish UBeaut EEE Ultra Shine, but no wax or anything.

Is this an acceptable finish?

Skewturn
12th May 2012, 10:17 PM
:2tsup::2tsup:Looks great, mum will be pleased.
Turning is fun isn't it. Cheers Skewturn

BobL
12th May 2012, 10:20 PM
Finish looks fine, well done.
In terms of design the bowl could be a little thinner.
Either way it's a good first effort. :2tsup:

Scott
12th May 2012, 10:20 PM
Is this an acceptable finish?

Great first off piece, you've got the knack pretty much straight off. Not an acceptable finish as far as the EEE goes, you'll need some sort of wax/shellac finish over the top. Just using EEE will give it a nice shine but the shine will fade fast. The most easiest finish is UBeaut's Shellawax (http://www.ubeaut.com.au/shell.html). Easy to use but read the instructions though.

dai sensei
12th May 2012, 10:42 PM
EEE is not a finish, you will need something over it, like Shellewax of Glow

bassmansimon
12th May 2012, 10:43 PM
Thanks Scott. Don't want to get into bad habits too soon.
A little off topic - can you sign your work with an Arline / Sharpie pen after EEE but before the shellawax?

bassmansimon
12th May 2012, 10:44 PM
Thanks Neil. I've got a jar of shellawax cream which I will coat it with next weekend

Scott
12th May 2012, 10:45 PM
Thanks Scott. Don't want to get into bad habits too soon.
A little off topic - can you sign your work with an Arline / Sharpie pen after EEE but before the shellawax?