PDA

View Full Version : Supporting the habit

Wayne Blanch
23rd February 2005, 09:46 PM
G'day all,
I have been turning for a couple of years now and I am in the situation of having a little spare time and very little spare money (I had to give up work to look after my sick wife.) I am thinking of trying to make a little money on the side by selling my turning efforts (Pens, boxes, mirrors, clocks etc.) at local markets. All that I would like to do is make enough money to keep me in wood and tools, I am not looking to make my living this way. Has anyone tried this and if so did it work or am I wasting my time? As I say all I want to do is support my turning habit.
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
Wayne

Cliff Rogers
23rd February 2005, 09:58 PM
Touchy question...... :rolleyes:

I guess it depends on how good your stuff is but the problem you will have is the amount of time you will have to be away from your sick wife to man the stall.

The other point that the pros may frown on is that you under cut them & 'joe bloogs public' then thinks that they are a rip off after they see the prices of your stuff at the markets.
Poor silly old 'joe bloogs public' can't tell (& doesn't care) the difference between cheap junk & a quality product.
How do I know this??? Have a look at how many 'cheap chi-an-ese' junk shops we now have in Oz & remember the old days when you could buy something that would last.(way back before we used to call jap-an-ese stuff junk)

If you make good stuff & sell it for a fair price, go for it....
Other wise, give it away to friends & family for birthday-christmas-weddings pressies & get a job mowing lawns to support your habit, you'll earn more mowing lawns.

smidsy
24th February 2005, 02:00 AM
Hei Wayne,
Have you thought about putting a few peices on ebay?
The buyer has to pay freight which you need to factor in to what you hope to get (freight'd be sod all on pens anyway) but I sold a heap of R/C gear on ebay with some good success.
Cheers