PDA

View Full Version : Help a new guy out?

Cinereous
19th May 2012, 09:33 PM
Beyond hitting things with a hammer, I have no experience in metalwork.

I'm wanting to cut heavy duty steel (~2mm thick) to achieve a similar pattern to this:

http://i.imgur.com/OWEkT.png

Your thoughts on what tools and techniques to use are appreciated.

Michael G
20th May 2012, 10:30 AM
To make something like that by hand in 2mm thick material will take a lot of effort and time. My suggestions would be to either find someone with a CNC mill and get them to do most of it so that you only need to take out the corners with a file, or try to come up with an alternative (wire mesh for example)
Michael

Graziano
20th May 2012, 10:38 AM
Another alternative would be to get them cut with a laser that a lot of steel merchants have these days. You'd have to do a drawing on the computer in a format they can use such as Autocad to save on drafting fees.

BobL
20th May 2012, 11:06 AM
If those shapes could be circular holes then a dimple drill press would do the job. The layout could be in the same spiral shape and it would look similar.

Dave J
20th May 2012, 01:40 PM
If it's only a one off and you really want to do it yourself, a drill to remove what you can, a jig saw with metal cutting blades to cut the shape, and some files to finish up. I think it would take around 1 1 1/2 hours to do neatly.
When using the jig saw use some clean oil on the blade while your cutting to keep it cool and lubricated, they will last a lot longer that way.

Dave

Gerbilsquasher
20th May 2012, 02:03 PM
I work for a laser cutter in Dandenong.... our minimum charge is $100 plus GST. This might sound expensive for 1 item, but if you had twenty cut it would (at a guess) still cost $100 plus GST. If you had other stuff to cut from the same material you could make a 'nest', call it one CAD file, and it would still cost the same (providing it's not too big).