PDA

View Full Version : Kayak design help needed

cjbfisher
28th May 2012, 12:47 PM
I have identified the need for a small sit on top kayak, and have drawn something up on Carlsons Hulls program. It is 9ft 8in long and 30in wide. I've designed it by looking at the lines of other kayaks, and from ideas that I have in my own head.
I've tried to attach a pdf with the drawings, but I'm not sure if it's going to work.
I'm after a bit of feedback about the design, as I have no design experience.
The cockpit is going to be between the stations at 762mm and 2083mm, and I intend to fit a Hobie Mirage drive for propulsion.
I know that 9ft 8in is a small kayak, and that it's not going to perform all that well, but it is only going to be used in small creeks/canals and only over a relatively short distance. Besides I already have a 4.0m plastic SOT and a 15ft S&G under construction.
I am thinking that I might make this one a strip S&G out of WRC.
Over to you guys with a bit of design experience to give me your thoughts.
Cheers,
Chris

labr@
28th May 2012, 02:22 PM
Given the length, ie very short, I'd say the critical thing will be location of the drive unit as this will determine where your weight will go and if it is not very close to the longitudinal centre of bouyancy then the boat will either be nose up or nose down. A longer hull would be more tolerant and if you were using a paddle you could just move the seat but in this case you are more constrained.

Not being familiar with the Hulls program I have to ask - does it give any hydrostatic predictions such as LCB, CLA etc and also what about drag and stability indications?