PDA

View Full Version : Newbie woodworker - dovetail jig question

Ozziespur
29th May 2012, 04:14 PM
Hey guys,

I have some cash from a birthday to buy some woodworking gear. I'm interested in getting a dovetail jig and making some boxes and the like with some nice looking dovetails.

My problem is perhaps my router. My wife bought me an ozito router last year and it's been good (see pic). I've used it for mainly rounding edges and dado's, never dovetails.
http://mccallum.assets2.blockshome.com/assets/ozito/ozito-clean-pics/2P70082CaEFgO60/ROUTER-PRR-1200.jpeg (http://mccallum.assets2.blockshome.com/assets/ozito/product-pics/3KOzn8Nv8Hf4BjV/1200-watt-router.jpg)

It's only 1200w and has a 1/4" collet. Will this be a problem working with a leigh jig ? Maybe a cheaper (taiwanese) jig is more my go given my experience ?
Please excuse my ignorance as I'm new to woodworking and am perhaps wanting to run before I can walk ....

Any advice from more experienced folk appreciated.

Gunnaduit
29th May 2012, 07:08 PM
I've got a Leigh D4R and I don't think you'd be better off getting a cheaper no-brand one, if you think you'll use it over a lifetime then buy quality, so you don't just end up buying the better one in 5 year's time anyway.

Some say you can cut by hand with practice (even if you didn't start at 14), that's the other way to go -- why not see if you're a natural at that first? There was a particularly good FWW article about it (Dec 2008 "A Trip to the Dovetail Doctor") by Rogowski that went into more detail than the usual explanations about it. On the FWW archive DVD.

All the Leigh prices came down a fair bit since I got mine, so you'd be lucky. On the Leigh website there's a long list of routers and the collets they need to work with the jig. Can't comment on the power.

groeneaj
29th May 2012, 07:14 PM
Have a look at the Gifkins dovetail jig. Australian made and owned and it's excellent! Plenty of guys on the forum own one including myself.

Andy

Just George