PDA

View Full Version : Woodwork family

bassmansimon
30th May 2012, 08:12 PM
I need to make/buy something out of wood to represent a family (2 parents and a baby).

I am a beginner on a lathe and have a mini bandsaw so could do some sort of jigsaw piece possibly.

Essentially, someone simple to represent 2 parents and a baby - some ideas I had were 3 "snowmen" shape figures on a lathe, or something similar?

Any thoughts? Nothing too complex please. I tried designing a jigsaw template to have mum & dad with baby in the middle to fit in like a jigsaw puzzle, but it didn't look good. Any thoughts?

Ps doesn't have to be human - I would be happy with - "3 little bears" idea or soemthing similar. If I can't make it items (job due in a couple of weeks), I would be interested in buying if something like this exists. Hoping not to resort to a $2 store for Chinese made plastic babushka dolls.

Enfield Guy
30th May 2012, 09:17 PM
The "snowman" idea works for me. AND, you get some practice on the lathe. All good.

_fly_
30th May 2012, 11:43 PM
what about turning your snowmen shape and then cut the front and back off on the bandsaw to make it more human shape (thinner than wide). Want to go further you could carve a little bit to get neck and cut back to show the nose etc.

issatree
31st May 2012, 01:15 AM
Hi Bassmansimon,
You will need : 300mm.- 200mm. - 100mm. x 75mm. x 10mm. timber.
Mount between centres, & I've found you need top speed & form a person, with Pants ( M ) next 1 with a Skirt, ( F ) & whatever for the Baby.
Maybe a reasonably Small 1 that the Mother could hold.
After you finish them you glue them, so as the man ( Tallest ) is at the back & to the side a bit, & glue the Baby to the Mother.
Done properly they should stand OK, Or cut a small piece in a triangle, & glue to the back.
This was done many years ago, I think by Richard Raffan.
I did 1 with 7 people, & it looked great. I called it " Crowded House"