PDA

View Full Version : Building in Under

Kenchiku
1st March 2005, 04:39 PM
Hi All,
There are so many experienced people here. I'm a novice but I like the idea of doing it Myself.

I'm thinking to raise my Queenslander on Steel RHS, then build a timber floor, External + Internal walls and a staircase. I guess that a timber floor is easier then a concrete slab. I'm also thinking of using recycled materials from demolished houses.
Does anyone have stories from their experience of doing this.

Thanks..

Jacksin
1st March 2005, 08:23 PM
G'day Kenchiku. I saw a home reno program on TV a fair while back where a guy raises this style of house on his own. Living in SA it is all foreign to me, but it looks like one hell of a job.

As the show went on the owners, who were trying to most of it themselves (once the house was up in the air) struck one problem after another and the costs escalated by thousands $$. Problems with sewer lines, house being unliveable for weeks, the bobcat moved in to excavate they struck rock and so on. From memory they built the lower floor on a slab floor and brick walls. I think if they had their time over they would have second thoughts.

Others here might point you in the right direction.
Good Luck
Jack ;)

Kenchiku
2nd March 2005, 11:52 AM
Yes, I remember that one....It did look a bit out of control. Even though I won't need to excavate I do see what you mean about unforseen things. I will be lifting so I will need to move out while water is disconnected. I know there are many more....

Thanks
Ken...

tcns
2nd March 2005, 12:04 PM
I am very interested in this thread I want to do the same,

I am trying to find out what sized RSJ I will need and how I work out the spans.
I assume I will have to employ the services of a structural engineer.

I have worked through a plan on the actual lifting and I have access to earthmoving equipment that I can use myself I am very interested in peoples
thoughts.

Tom

numbat
2nd March 2005, 01:45 PM