PDA

View Full Version : Need urgent help in bending ply

jmuras
14th June 2012, 03:21 AM
hi all, i am currently studying dt in the hsc and for my major design project i am constructing a wake skate. you probably dont know what that is but basically i have to bend a 15"x38" piece of ply to create the board. now i was wondering if there is a way to bend the ply if it has already been glued. i am thinking of steam bending it, but as i am a complete amateur im not sure what to do. if this way wont work please help or if there is a better way please inform me, need urgent help.

thanks, jake.

burraboy
14th June 2012, 07:54 AM
You need to laminate several pieces of thin ply together using a form. A pic of what you want to do would be useful.

jmuras
14th June 2012, 11:15 PM
thanks for the reply but im not sure if you correctly understand me. i already have cut the shape out with ply already glued together. is there a way to bend it now or will i have to start over by bending by laminating and glueing?

burraboy
15th June 2012, 07:15 AM
is there a way to bend it now or will i have to start over by bending by laminating and glueing?

No, and then yes.
Are you getting any useful ideas from your teacher?

burraboy
15th June 2012, 07:25 AM
Wake skate construction - Step two. (http://www.instructables.com/id/Wake_skate_construction_Step_two/)

see where this link takes you.

Charlie roth
18th June 2012, 07:21 PM
For my Hsc i have just bent quite a large piece of ply. I used flexi ply which worked extremely well and laminated 3 pieces together using megapoxy 69 glue and then clamped it into a mould. I honestly would have no idea how you would bend a solid block of ply, you could try steaming but it could possibly turn disastrous. I would follow the instructions in burraboy's link above :2tsup:

jmuras
25th June 2012, 11:36 PM