PDA

View Full Version : Jacarandá-Cabiúna - Brazilian rosewood

Tomazelli
24th June 2012, 11:14 AM
A friend that lives near the Bahia state (Brazil) found a fallen tree of Jacarandá and sent me a piece. I am posting photos for you see the wood.

Although I am a biologist, I can not say the exactly scientific name of the tree, I think that is a Dalbergia nigra, but i am not sure. Here it is know as "Jacarandá Cabiúna", a variety or even another specie, I dont know, of brazilian rosewood. It is a little different from the classic Jacarandá.

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e90/atomazelli/GDM/cabiuna.jpg
The larger piece is Jacarandá Cabiúna, it has 70 x 15 x 10 cm. The smaller piece on the right is the classic Jacarandá. And the piece on the left is know here as Vinhático, a golden wood, its scientific name is Platymenia sp. from the Fabaceae family, possibly the Plathymenia foliolosa species. The mallet is made by the friend that sent the wood and its head is from Ipê, Tabebuia sp.

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e90/atomazelli/GDM/cabiuna2.jpg
Here is a close from the wood. Is one of the more beautifull woods that I see in my hands. And the photo does not really show the beauty of the wood.

I do not even sawed a piece from this wood. I will need to very inspired to use this wood, to make something that does justice to its beauty, maybe a box, or a jewelry box... I also think to make a spokeshave with this wood, and send a piece to a friend, that makes beautifull marking gauges like this on my bench: http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e90/atomazelli/GDM/GDM_Graminho.jpg

wheelinround
24th June 2012, 02:46 PM
Beautiful wood love them both the finished product excellent.

Our Aussie native Jacaranda is much whiter (http://woolnwood.blogspot.com.au/2012/06/jacarranda-down.html) as seen in my rough turning.

Hey artme you might need to get to know this fellow he's a woodworker from Brazil.:;

Runge
25th June 2012, 07:07 AM