PDA

View Full Version : Storing chisels

woodhooker
6th July 2012, 11:42 PM
Hi there,
I'm new to the addiction of woodturning and asking for any ideas and advice on how to store chisels, does anyone have photos of what you have made or what you store your chisels in. Any ideas would be most helpful. Thanks you, Susan:no:

TTIT
6th July 2012, 11:56 PM
Store them! :o Never :no: Gotta keep them handy at all times - you could try for something like my rack on this very old thread (http://www.woodworkforums.com/f8/one-man-band-44357/) :shrug: - still in use to this day, just a couple of the chisels have been renewed.

_fly_
7th July 2012, 12:24 AM
cupboard under the lathe bench has a draw on sliders with holes for tool handles.
Can be a pain that the doors need to be open to use it, But a blast of air cleans it out quick enough.
And the left door is in the wrong place to stand there, will need to change that sometime.

HardingPens
7th July 2012, 04:18 AM
I know many people don't like storing tools behind the lathe since you have to reach across for the tools. I alway stop the lathe before changing tools and I find this wall rack is excellent for storing tools, pencils, chuck keys and the like. The rack is made from wood with holes drilled to allow the tool steel to protrude through.

NeilS
7th July 2012, 10:17 AM
Plenty of options in this thread (http://www.woodworkforums.com/f8/show-us-your-tool-holding-system-97995/) and a few others here (http://www.woodworkforums.com/f8/i-need-tool-tidy-122515/).

Tim the Timber Turner
7th July 2012, 11:42 AM
cupboard under the lathe bench has a draw on sliders with holes for tool handles.
Can be a pain that the doors need to be open to use it, But a blast of air cleans it out quick enough.
And the left door is in the wrong place to stand there, will need to change that sometime.

Fly

I would suggest your of your tool rack is not a safe method of storing tools.