PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening Chisels with Oil Stones

Redback
8th March 2005, 01:22 PM
Ok, I have been reading some post regarding the sharpness of chisels.

Based on what I have read, what I thought was sharp is in fat extremely blunt.

As a complete novice in this area, can anyone point to a good way to learn?

As a starter, I have 5 oil stones that I have inherited. Now since there are no markings I have no idea what grit they are, but by the feel I have a reasonable range from quite rough to almost perfectly smooth.

Would I need to flatten these stones and if so, how?

I have seen lots of talk on water stones, are oil stones no good? should I be investing in some waterstones or should oil be good enough?

Finally and the biggest question, is there a good tutorial somewhere on the web that shows how to get the razor sharp finishes. The chisels I have are relatively cheap, am I asking the impossible for these? (can't remember the brand but the blades have Sheffield on them. I thought steel was pretty good from them???

cheers

RB

craigb
8th March 2005, 01:31 PM
Oh no. Another sharpening thread. :eek: :eek:

Run away, run away :p :D

Have a look in the archives. Be prepared to spend plenty of time reading all the posts on this subject.

Scary sharp is probably the easiest method to master. Do a search on that as well.

Good luck.

:)

Woodlice
8th March 2005, 06:42 PM
mmm scary sharp. Doh!

J!

echnidna
8th March 2005, 07:12 PM
nothing wrong with oilstones.
chippies & cabinet makers have used them for many years!!!

outback
8th March 2005, 08:15 PM
Don't let them scare you. By all means do a search, oodles of info on sharpening. Waterstones seem to be the flavour of the month, so much so, I am really tempted to try them.

However, oilstones have been around for donkeys, so by all means use them.

Yes they will need flattening, they will probably be harder than waterstones, so a little more patience will be required.