PDA

View Full Version : Turning turning tool handles

ozhunter
21st July 2012, 03:07 PM
Greetings

I want to make some handles for some of my turning tools and I have two questions.

Is Wild Cherry (that is what we call it her on the Central Tablelands) suitable for handles?

I'll try and find my tree ID book and see if it is a native and what it should be called.

If I have a limb in it's off the tree state, of say three to four inches or a bit bigger in diameter . Can I put that between centres and happily turn my handle, seems to me that would be fairly strong, but I'm only a mug amateur.

I wanted to use this timber because I have plenty of it.

Thanks

issatree
21st July 2012, 03:54 PM
Hi ozhunter,
Most woods are always pretty good. Sticks or Branches off the ground always work.
If you are after a design, " Richard Raffan's " Book, " Turning Wood ", there is a Handle in the back pages.
The Book maybe in the Library.
I took the book to O/ Works & blew the picture of the handle up to 13in. or 330mm. on A3, took it home & copied it. I took a Rule of course.
Now, nearly all my Handles are of the Shape, & am very pleased with them all.
I only have, what I regard as a Small Hand, so this Shape Handle, just suits me fine.

ozhunter
21st July 2012, 04:05 PM
Thanks issatree.

I went and had a look at the timber i have at home and I don't think it will be suitable.

Not enough solid wood and a good few cracks.

Might see what I have out at the farm.

I may just "have" to buy some timber at the toy show next week for my handles.

Paul39
22nd July 2012, 01:46 AM
Ozhunter,

If you find a piece 6 - 7 inches in diameter, cut to a bit longer that your finish size and split it in 4 pieces. Split rather than cut as it will split along the grain. If wet, put in the lathe and knock the bark and corners off, and let dry.