PDA

View Full Version : Learning a Turn

Christos
9th August 2012, 11:39 AM
Some of you might already know that I am new to turing and for the most part have only been doing between center turnings. Mainly the odd smaller items, such as pens, key rings, the odd wasting of wood to practics.

To turn a bowl has not happen with only two attempts, the first flying off the lathe and out the garage door, the second looking very bad with heaps of chip.

So I needed to get an idea of the process and the steps from a square piece of wood to something looking like a bowl.

I was fortunate enough to visit Wheelinround who agreeded to give some instructions.

I took a few pieces of wood to his house along with my tools and after he stopped laughing :lbs:we discussed the process.

As I had a limited amount of tools it was really just understanding what to look out for when turning. I have yet to meet anyone who enjoys getting a catch. :oo:

The bowl is not finished as we ran out of time but that was really my fault as more talking was done then actual turing. :U

wheelinround
9th August 2012, 11:50 AM
:2tsup: Christos you did very well.

I am no pro by any means much info stored away from school years, info gained from watching, reading a lot on this forum. I must admit tho I am different and just had to get in and have a go. I have 3 trades behind me which I have learned of what machines can do to a human body I AM STILL LEARNING.

I enjoyed your visit a great deal sorry I had to push to get started but as you said to much talking not enough working LOL We started about 1045 cutting blanks 4 in all and then setting up etc stopped for lunch and back into it till about 3.30.

Here he is in all his safety gear a small 7" approx bowl not sure of the wood looked and smelt like Sydney Blue gum prior turning lovely colour.

Not much to finish it off Christos now gentle does it.:;:p

Christos
9th August 2012, 12:23 PM