PDA

View Full Version : Nova Dovetail chisel

Bluegum
18th August 2012, 02:35 PM
Hi All,

After my recent lathe purchase I have been going through the nova Cattle dog and I have come across their dovetail chisel and I was wondering is it worth buying? I am a novice turner and I was thinking it might be a good investment. I also so dont want to waste money because I am in need of buying a chuck as well and was thinking about the vicmarc 120. As much as its fun being a tool junkie I do have to watch my budget.
Thanks

Jim Carroll
18th August 2012, 03:00 PM
Waste of money.

Use your skew chisel to create the small dovetail at the top of the spigot.

RETIRED
18th August 2012, 04:14 PM
Waste of money.

Use your skew chisel to create the small dovetail at the top of the spigot.Second that.

artme
18th August 2012, 04:33 PM
Why do you want to put a dovetail there in the first place??

Jim Carroll
18th August 2012, 05:04 PM
The idea of the dovetail chisel is to create the spigot or recess on the bottom of your bowl etc.

One problem with the dovetail chisel is that it is not a true match for the nova jaws.

The nova jaws are actually a parralel jaw with a small dovetail at the end of the jaw.

So you create a parralell spigot or recess {not recommended in my opinion} then use the long point of the skew to make the small dovetail for the jaw to clamp into.

Now if Vicmarc had done this it would work as they have an 80 degree dovetail on their jaws, but still the easiest way is to reshape your 1/2" skew chisel to the 80 degrees and you have the right angle for the vicmarc jaws everytime.

dr4g0nfly
18th August 2012, 05:47 PM
Bluegum, good of you to ask the question sometimes people assume tool manufacturers (or other self appointed experts) know best.