PDA

View Full Version : Sharpening chisels on the job

Dengue
29th August 2012, 12:45 PM
I normally borrow my son's Tormek water cooled slow speed grindstone for sharpening chisels in a batch run, but these can become less sharp when working on the job.

Rather than borrowing the Tormek again, what have people found is the best way to keep a sharp edge on chisels on the run between batch sharpening sessions on the Tormek?

chambezio
29th August 2012, 02:03 PM
Having been a Carpenter all my life and having to "touch up" chisels and plane blades "on the go" so to speak, I always carried an India Oilstone. India stones are very fine grained and give you a sharp edge pretty quickly. So if you were to use 200 X 50mm stone (of your choosing) with a holder to give you a constant angle while rubbing on the stone, you can quite quickly get a sharp edge.
I will confess now before the world, that right from being an apprentice I always managed to "roll" the chisel right on the edge which gave me a "sort of" sharp edge. I was at a swap meet about 15 years ago and picked up a Stanley Sharpening Guide for $10. The very first time I used it my sharpening success was assured.
My technique was OK but with the Sharpening Guide my sharpening escapades have been very successful and rewarding. If you can keep your sharpening angle constant you won't need to regrind for sometime.

Robson Valley
29th August 2012, 02:10 PM
All is revealed in Star's Sharpening Journey in the Wood Carving Forum. I do not enjoy sharpening. But as a means to the end of really pleasurable wood carving, I can do it very well.
chambezio got it right = a very fine oil stone and the correct angle. To me, carpenter's plane blades and chisels come up just fine and dandy at 30 degrees. You'll see what I do in the SSJ thread.

mic-d
29th August 2012, 06:44 PM