PDA

View Full Version : G'day from VIC!

CupcakeCaper
15th October 2012, 02:45 AM
Hey guys! I'm Samantha, a 22 year old swimming teacher.

I'm very keen to be the sort of person that knows and can do a little bit of everything. A Jack-of-all-trades, I suppose. Among many other skills I'd love to learn, woodwork is definitely right up there on the list. I can't think of much better than knowing a skill that is both fun AND practical. Next year my fiance and I should hopefully be moving in to a place with more space than what we have now, so I'm excited about the prospect of finally being able to start some projects!

That said, with the exception of some pretty terrible woodworking classes in highschool, I have no knowledge or experience (unless hacking up a fallen tree in the backyard counts for anything). Any advice or tips on woodworking for a beginner would be fantastic, but even if not, I'm sure I'll pick up a lot from the forum.

Look forward to meeting you all!
-Sam

Woodwould
15th October 2012, 06:39 AM
Welcome Sam! :thyel: The best woodworking tip I can offer is keep making cup cakes!

crowie
15th October 2012, 08:05 AM
G'Day & Welcome Sam,
You'll find a heap of helpful & knowledgeable blokes & ladies on the forum and for most very willing to assist.
make sure you show off your handiwork as everyone loves a photo especially WIP photos with build notes.
Enjoy the forum.
Enjoy your woodwork.
cheers, crowie

CupcakeCaper
15th October 2012, 02:33 PM
Woodwould: I think as soon as I get stuck into some projects I'll be making the fiance bake all the cupcakes ;P Or possibly there'll be no cupcakes at all since he'll probably want to join me in my woodworking adventures!

Crowie: Thanks, I'm absolutely itching to learn some good techniques and start putting them into practice :)

JJF
15th October 2012, 08:47 PM
Welcome Sam,

Jonzjob
17th October 2012, 12:05 AM
Welcome from me too Sam.