PDA

View Full Version : NEW Swarts tools 305mm 12" sliding compound mitre saw drop saw

Pages : [1] 2

Xanthorrhoeas
6th November 2012, 10:13 PM
I'm a newbie so please excuse any clumsiness in this post.

Forum members might be interested in the new cheapo tools on the market through eBay - Swarts brand. I recently found myBosch GTM 12 combination mitre and table saw, although a high quality machine, did not have the capacity that I needed to cut tapers on some 90 mm Huon Pine table legs for a table that I am making so I upgraded to a Hare and Forbes SB-12 and decided to sell the GTM-12 (would be nice if the ebay buyer would pay me!). That potentially leaves me without a drop mitre saw so I started looking around. Now, I am a hobbyist so spending a lot of money is not sensible and having purchased a new table saw I thought that I should look for an inexpensive mitre saw. I read about the 909 and read the review by Jordswoodshop but was concerned that the supplied blade is quite coarse. A better blade for fine work adds at least another $100 so the saw cost goes to close to $400.

The Swarts tools 305 mm saw on eBay, however, comes with a 100 tooth blade. I emailed the seller and asked if the saw cut true and if there was any wobble in the blade (a real problem I had with a past Ryobi table saw). He said the blade ran and cut true on his saws. The saw has similar (not quite as good but OK for my use) spec to the 909 saw except that it only offers one sided (left) bevels instead of both sides. It lists at an eBay "buy it now price" of $275 including freight. I decided to be cheeky and made a "best offer" $50 lower. To my surprise that was accepted and the saw arrived very promptly via Couriers Please.