PDA

View Full Version : Best blade for MDF and Plywood

noodle_snacks
6th April 2005, 11:18 PM
I am after a blade primarlily for use with MDF and Plywood, what is the best type of 10in blade to use?

Harry72
6th April 2005, 11:29 PM
I've been using a makita CT 10" 64t ATB blade on MDF for a few years, its still holding up after all this time.(made many speaker boxes with it)
It doesnt leave any burn marks so its still got a edge on it, used it to cut some jarrah the other day it barely needs sanding.

David L
8th April 2005, 03:42 PM
A fairly fine TCT for a clean cut, keeping in mind that MDF can dull a blade very quickly
because of the dirt on the logs being used. Do not have to much blade protruding from the cut

noodle_snacks
8th April 2005, 06:28 PM
ATM i am probably going to go with a 60-80 tooth TCT blade, sound about right? Harry72, i am interested in your speaker projects... (i am building some MTMs using a Seas 27TDFC and Peerless HDS Nomex woofers very shortly actually)

Harry72
8th April 2005, 10:23 PM
I dont do it much any more, just cant be bothered in designing them.
The boxes are easy, its getting the Xovers correct which involves much electrical wisdom and test tools... after all they are the brain of the speaker.
Id realy love just to be able to buy complete componets only kits, no one in aust does it without spending thousands...
At the end of the day its just a speaker, many of the internet speaker boffins just over proca$tinate on stuff thats lucky to make .000001% difference, ie those fancy speaker wires that cost thousands or boxes that are made from extremely thick wood that are braced heavily enough that they could park a massive dumptruck on it without collapsing it! .
Anyway back to the subject, MDF does not dull TCT blades all that quick yes it kills HSS blades.
IMHO the reason why most peolpe dull cutters/blades on MDF is the feed rate, fast is better you'll notice it burns easy if you go to slow...