PDA

View Full Version : Drill Press Mortice

Redback
8th April 2005, 12:20 PM
Ive seen those bits that go into a drill press that cut square holes.

I've also seen a morticing kit that attaches to the Drill Press.

Is the morticing kit attachment essential? I think Ive seen examples where only the morticing drill bit was used.

Whats the advantage and does anyone recommend getting such a thing.

I was just going to use a forstner bit and then clean the edges with a chisel, but this looks time saving.

RB

Wood Borer
8th April 2005, 12:40 PM
I understand they are good if you don't go for the dirt cheap ones but that applies to most tools I suppose.

I haven't got one but I am a hobbyist and I don't seem to waste too much time using a router and hand chisels or just chisels.

If you make heaps of mortise and tenon joints then perhaps they would be worth considering. If the reason you are thinking about buying one is because you have problems making mortise and tenon joints using other methods then a good option might be to improve your skills using the other methods and spend your money on a tool that performs work not possible with your existing tools.

silentC
8th April 2005, 12:55 PM
Is the morticing kit attachment essential? I think Ive seen examples where only the morticing drill bit was used.
It is essential because whilst the drill bit in the middle spins around, the square chisel on the outside must stay still and it's the attachment that holds it.

I've got one but don't use it because I prefer the router and Rocker's morticing jig. The main problems with the drill press attachments are that they are fiddly to set up and the hold down arrangements are not very satisfactory. You need something quite strong to hold the peice down on the table so that it doesn't lift when you raise the bit out of the mortice. Some people have had success using an xy vice.

Do a search on chisel mortiser, there's heaps of info here on how to set up and use them.

Stubchain