PDA

View Full Version : Please help me choose a wood lathe

noah baker
8th April 2005, 01:44 PM
Hello everyone

I am new to this forum, and Im also new to wood turning. I am very intredted and eager to learn. My goal is to make a 2 peice pool cue. Turn the shaft out of hard rock maple and the butt out of a softer wood. Im have basicly no idea of what to buy or what I will need to get the job done. I have been looking at lathes around 200 dollars. THe lathe I looked at is
Grizzly G8691 14 x 40 wood lathe with stand
1/2 hp 110v brush type motor
14' swing over bed
40' between centers
includes adjustiable tool rest, live center, spur center and 6' face plate
160 bucks.
Will this lathe get the job done? is is a decent lathe, or do you recomend another type or brand? Is there any other tools I will need to buy to make a 2 peice pool cue? And lastly what are live and spur centers?
\
thank you
Noah Baker

fxst
8th April 2005, 02:01 PM
you realise of course this is an Australian site and grizzly is not a brand seen here just like the said bears so probably wont get a lot of info on that brand.
the choice of a lathe is personal not dollar drivenand we all have our own idea as to the best lathe.
Interested you may be but maybe a pool cue would be a job for further down the line once you get the hang of turning tapers etc.
Just so you can let us know how you did the cue and post photos of it I suggest you get onto a club in your area and learn a few safety tips first, its very hard to follow the forum with a large lump of timber stuck in your head or the chisel in your eye do to a grab or somesuch
Pete

smidsy
8th April 2005, 04:03 PM
Hei Noah,
Because this is an aussie forum we don't have any knowledge of your model numbers.
Those specs sound fairly reasonable but you want to make sure the head and tail stock have morse tapers, and that the bed is cast iron and not steel tube - steel tube can flex like mad and will affect the quality of your work.