PDA

View Full Version : Incorrect Concrete Dilemma

nexusone
8th April 2005, 07:30 PM
Hi - I am in the process of building 2 small industrial sheds. 32MPa concrete was specified for the slabs, which the concretor quoted. They were poured in the last 2 days.

HOWEVER - I found out today that only 25MPa concrete was ordered and used (I have confirmed this with the concrete supplier). I found out from some delivery dockets left lying around on the site.

I don't think the concretor was trying to rip me off, and suspect he just had brain disengaged for the day.

I am hopping mad. Too many times I have used tradespeople who do not do what you ask them!

What suggestions do you have for how I deal with this? I have not paid him yet obviously.

Steve

dai sensei
8th April 2005, 07:47 PM
The impact of 32 vs 25 MPa depends on how big your shed is, how it is reinforced, and what founding the slab has - speaking as a structural engineer myself. 25 is not generally used as structural concrete, more for the slab that don't matter (back yard sheds & walkways etc).

Ask your builder to provide evidence from a structural engineering certifyer that the slab will in fact be satisfactory for the intended use.

You should at least not pay the full price, 25 concrete is cheaper, if anything at all.

Barry_White
8th April 2005, 08:23 PM
I think you will find that 25mpa concrete is adequate structurally for a shed however if you are going to be running forklift trucks on the surface you will find that it will deteriate quicker than 32mpa concrete.

You could always extend your footing bolts with threaded rod and threaded rod joiners and pour a four inch slab on top and get the concretor to pay for it provided you had submitted the request in writing.

Spent several years selling and organizing construction of industrial sheds and our engineer who specialized in industrial sheds only ever specified 32mpa concrete whenever the shed was to be used with forklifts.

Gaza