PDA

View Full Version : honden lathe

pench
14th January 2013, 08:54 PM
hi all my name is steve & this is my first time and i require some help, i have been offered a honden metal lathe model no 1450, year made 1982 in very good condition but theres a catch they cant find the compound slide & tool post, had a look on the net & cant seem to find any info on where to get one if at all able to or any info on the lathe, any help would be great, cheers steve.

bollie7
14th January 2013, 09:10 PM
Welcome to the forum Steve.
In regards to your lathe, the Honden lathe was sold under a few different names. One of them was McMillan. I have a McMillan version but I'm not sure of the model number atm. They were also sold under the Lantaine name.
Do a search on this forum for "McMillan lathe" and/or "Lantaine lathe". I'm sure something will turn up.
In regards to the compound slide, It shouldn't be too hard to adapt one of a similar size from a different lathe (if you can get one at a good price) if you can't get an original

regards

bollie7

Ironwood
14th January 2013, 09:14 PM
Hi Steve, I bought a run down Forbes lathe a while back, when I was researching for info, I found mine was a lathe that came out of a Taiwanese factory and rebadged by many different names, I seem to remember Honden being one of them.
Does it look like this one ?

If you do a search here on the forum, you will find a bit of info about them.

Here is a link to my rebuild thread,,, http://www.woodworkforums.com/f65/forbes-lathe-rebuild-wip-136357/

Ueee
14th January 2013, 09:38 PM
Hi Steve, Welcome.