PDA

View Full Version : New Lathe

Bucks23
16th January 2013, 05:20 PM
Hi All

just picked up this lathe today cost me just $100 and works perfectly, I wasn't going to get into turning yet but at that price I couldn't say no, seeing as I am new to woodturning could someone please explain why it has a faceplate on the rear of the spindle, I asked the guy who I bought it from and he couldn't tell me :?

wheelinround
16th January 2013, 05:30 PM
Possible out board turning by mounting to the face plate or a sanding disc attached to it.

Drillit
16th January 2013, 05:37 PM
Hello newbucks23,
Firstly there is a lot more that you need to know about turning and it would be wise to get some lessons and join a woodturning group.
Others could advise you about that, depending on where you live in Vic. As to the face plate it attaches to the spindle and it has a number of holes
in it where screws are placed through and into the piece that you are turning. In other words it holds the piece firmly. However, quite often you need to use the
tailstock with the live centre for added security. Where it is placed at the back I can only assume it had a sanding attachnment, probably a ply board screwed to the plate.
Did the lathe come with a drive and live centre and tool rest. Of course there is also the correct tools to use. If you are
interested it really would pay you to seek out help and advice - rather than do yourself some damage. There are plenty of Utube and info,. on the web including of course this site.
Having said those few things, I hope that you are interested in turning and progress. However, I would stress get some lessons and advice. Drillit.
PS I had assumed from the question that you were inexperienced. Please accept my comments in good faith. I apologise if I am wrong.

Christos
16th January 2013, 05:38 PM
Can be used as a handle to turn the piece slowly.

ian thorn
16th January 2013, 06:27 PM
Yes is it a faceplate or a hand wheel
Ian

Bucks23