PDA

View Full Version : looking for help with resin/ epoxy

gunny0369
4th March 2013, 04:42 PM
Hoping somebody out there could give me some assistance I am working on a cremation urn for a great uncle.I am using a piece of spalted maple that has sentimental value because 3 years earlier I made an urn for his wife out of the other half, however I have moved and taken the log with me but it has become checked and split in places. I have been able to rough out the shape of the urn but was hoping to fill the cracked places with resin or epoxy. I have no experience in using this method however I have been looking around and seeing some beautiful work is there anyone out there that may have some advice for me? 1 last note I would like the resin or epoxy to be black as it would match the spalting lines. Your advice is greatly appreciated God bless

hughie
4th March 2013, 07:54 PM
What I have done in the past is to mix up my epoxy and colour it the desired colour. In my case a rich burgundy/mahogany colour then I poured it into the cracks slowly and let it set. Now if they go all the way through you may have to tape it up with some wide tape to prevent loss ie masking, gaffer tape etc. It usually takes me several goes to fill big cracks over a few days.

If for any reason I get a few air bubbles I will re-fill these at rough out stage. If they occur later close to finishing you must seal the surrounding wood before you attempt to fill any holes. Then I use a tooth pick to fill and fine holes.

hope that helps

dai sensei
4th March 2013, 08:21 PM
Coffee grinds usually match well with spalting, rub it in the cracks, then use thin CA. Repeat rubbing in coffee and applying CA until filled completely.

Paul39
5th March 2013, 12:11 PM
I have used coffee grounds mixed with 2 part clear epoxy and packed in with a small spoon. Also instant coffee in epoxy, and black toner from copy machines in epoxy.

I have better luck with the above than the below.