PDA

View Full Version : Outboard/left hand turning

comgreserv
12th March 2013, 01:55 AM
right now for stupid question time....
I have been lucky enough to pick up an old Tough with outboard tool rest set up. Am turn a bowl completely on the left hand of the lathe if a get an adaptor thread made up to use expanding collet chuck that I would normally use in the right hand side? I want to do some larger turnings than the right hand will allow :) I'm not a novice and will be bolting lathe down and run at low speeds etc :)

Skew ChiDAMN!!
12th March 2013, 06:32 AM
When I first started turning I seriously wanted a Tough lathe. :)

From memory, outboard thread is left-handed hence the need for the adapter?

That should be fine so long as the chuck already uses an adapter to fit on the inboard side. Otherwise the adapter'll be an extension of the shaft (even if only an inch or so) and - unless accurately machined - likely to add an element of run-out.

ie. More likely to not quite run true and add some 'wobble.' Which can be a right headache if you need to re-mount a piece.

Also, whether LH thread or RH, it's an idea to make sure that the adapter can be secured to the shaft. Whether by grub-screw or otherwise. There's little worse than spinning up (or down in the case of LH thread) the lathe and watching your nicely finished piece of work go scooting out the door and across the road with the chuck still attached.

(Eh, ? :innocent:)

RETIRED
12th March 2013, 07:58 AM
:rolleyes::D

turnerted
12th March 2013, 05:09 PM